Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

Strut Brace

Search this Thread

Old 11-17-2010, 04:14 PM
jdw05gt

Default Strut Brace

If this really works, why didn't Ford design a strut brace into the front suspension from the factory? I am new to Ford/Mustang (Always owned Camaro's, Firebird's and Vettes), and thinking it may help my '05 GT Convertible.
Old 11-17-2010, 06:05 PM
HareBrained
1st Gear Member

But they have ... there were several models that had triangular braces and others with a simple transverse brace, such as the current GT. There are many locations that could use bracing but it's a matter of cost versus return. If Ford doesn't think it's needed, it will save them a few dollars.

If you want to stiffen the convertible, subframe connectors would be the best place to start. And a triangulated brace between the strut towers and the firewall. That's just my opinion.

Old 11-18-2010, 06:58 PM
jdw05gt

Default Thanks, but...

OK....so does that mean a stiffer, rougher ride? I know this is a mustang not an Escalade, but dont want it too rough. Thanks for the advice about the tie back to the firewall. That makes sense.
Old 11-18-2010, 11:55 PM
HareBrained
1st Gear Member

Originally Posted by jdw05gt
OK....so does that mean a stiffer, rougher ride? I know this is a mustang not an Escalade, but dont want it too rough. Thanks for the advice about the tie back to the firewall. That makes sense.