Notices
S197 Handling Section For everything suspension related, inlcuding brakes, tires, and wheels.

My suspension research - validation please?

Old 02-26-2011, 05:51 PM
angryBits
2nd Gear Member

Default My suspension research - validation please?

Total suspension noob here...

Goals are to lower and reduce wheel hop.

I wanna do it right, I've looked around and around and this is what I've come up with for my goals, however I'm a noob and I would like some validation in case I'm missing something (no matter how small).

Suggestions are welcome!

At a glance:

CUT Coilovers (may need GT500 Strut mounts)
ADD Adjustable struts/shocks/springs
Panhard bar (adjustable b/c I'm lowering)
Lower Control Arms (non-adjust)
Upper 3rd Link (adjustable b/c I'm lowering)
CUT Rear Control Arm relocate
CUT Bump Steer
Alignment

~ $2000 in parts and I'm cool with that, not willing to spend much more though (aside from installation).

Detailed:

1. Coilovers. I'm open to suggestions here but height adjust is a interest to me. I would like 1" (or less if possible) up front and 1.5" in the back. I'm looking for something ideal for aggressive street and occasional track use. Lower $ is better.
Megan Racing or Eibach or others?

2. GT500 Strut mounts depending on what coilovers here

3. Steeda Adjustable Panhard bar to recenter the rear after lowered. What about the steeda panhard bar brace too much?

4. Steeda Lower Control Arms (non adjustable). to reduce wheel hop

5. Steeda Adjustable 3rd Link (adjustable due to lowering). to reduce wheel hop

6. Rear Control Arm relocate. UMI has a non-weld one, Steeda has a welded one. Do I really need to weld it? Not sure I like permanent.

7. Steeda bump steer to keep the toe steady when suspension moves. Overkill but I thought I might as well have it put in while I have the shop guys under my car.

8. Alignment after all is done.