Notices
S197 Shelby Section This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the latest installment of the Shelby Mustangs; the Shelby GT, the CS6, and the awesome GT500.

CAI and Tune in CA

Search this Thread

Old 03-05-2010, 11:00 AM
troyoda

Default CAI and Tune in CA

I’m a newbie here after just picking up a 2007 GT500 last week. It only had 2,800 miles and I just couldn’t pass it up. My mods will come in stages since I can’t to do them all in swoop. Based on past experiences with Ford trucks one of the best HP gains for your buck is swapping out the CAI and tune. After looking at this site it appears that the JLT/SCT package is one of the better products. I have a couple of questions. Is this JLT/SCT Lethal Performance Tune CARB approved (i.e. will it pass a smog test in California)? I’m planning to swap out the pulleys and exhaust next year. Will the same tune handle other mods that I do later?

Thanks for your help…
Old 03-05-2010, 11:13 AM
etnoats
1st Gear Member

You probably need to ask them directly. Alot of custom tunes turn off certain functions to make the processor run faster. The tuner itself should have a tune in it that will pass, but you will probably have to reinstall the stock airbox. This is how I will handle my 05 when it gets smogged. Keep the stock box in the trunk when I take it in, if the station says something, only takes 20 minutes to swap it out. Im using a predator and it has five or six tunes plus my custom tunes from bamachips.
Old 03-05-2010, 11:52 AM
DRock
3rd Gear Member

i believe only the steeda intakes are CARB legal.
Old 03-06-2010, 09:10 AM
6-Speed
2nd Gear Member