Saleen, Roush and Boss Mustangs Discussions on Saleen, Roush, and late model Shinoda Boss Models within. SVT models, check the 4.6L section.

Manual vs Automatic

Search this Thread

Old 04-05-2005, 06:22 PM
blackmale322000

Default Manual vs Automatic

I have loved mustang since I was in highschool and first saw the new SVO that one of my classmates drove. I currently own a '67 GTA fastback with a 390 engine that lives in the shop, I spend more time writing checks than driving the car. I'm currently waiting for my 2005 Saleen SC, my dealer said my car and 3 others would be on the ground in late April ( I hope that's not BS).

The only problem is that I ordered my Saleen with a manual transmission and I suck at driving manual (actually I have no experience). I have been informed by multiple dealers that there would be a longer wait time on automatic transmission Saleen SC's because of chasis availability issues from Ford. Every car I have ever owned has been an automatic. I've been practicing on a friends car sporadically and she's been very patient with me. I been contemplating buying a late model mustang ('93 - 2000) with a manual and practicing then trading it to the dealer when I pick up my Saleen. Any tips on quickly mastering the art of shifting. I heard that the transmissions on the Saleens were smooth shifting and easy master.

PS. Any thoughts on the 2006 Shelby GT500 (450 HP)? Will this monster cut into Saleen's sales and popularity?
Old 04-05-2005, 08:01 PM
Kooldac
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Manual vs Automatic

Hey... I'm kinda in the same boat as you. I am just about 18 and thus have limited experience with simply driving. I have never even tried a manual. I have been saving and will be for the next few years to hopefully buy a 2003 GT my Junior year of college. But as you can see, I have no knowledge of manual. My friend is contemplating letting me practive on his Evo, but maybe not. I could use the tips as well.
Old 04-05-2005, 08:28 PM
Obselite