SVT Forums

03 Snake losing its value?

Search this Thread

Old 10-14-2004, 01:48 AM
tha Termin8or

Default 03 Snake losing its value?

I was looking at prices recently at autotrader.com for SVT Cobra's (since I'm looking to get one this spring) and I saw some sub-25k prices that shocked me. I figured high 20s at the least, but none as low as I saw.

I know all cars lose their value over the years, but I thought the Cobra (particularly the 03-04s) would hold a little better. This is good news to me, but bad for people who aren't looking to keep their car very long. This might also be due to the readily-availability of these cars, but this is the "Terminator". Not many cars can light a candle to these cars stock, let alone slightly modded.

Then again, I could be entirely wrong on the rate of depreciation(sp).
Old 10-14-2004, 08:16 AM
rtm
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: 03 Snake losing its value?

Here is an excerpt from another board.

I'm a Manager for a Large Ford Dealer and have seen this happen many times before.A new model comes out and incentives get large and the previous Model becomes "Distressed Merchandise" so to speak.
It also has alot to do with the Market in your part of the Country.
In Detroit Everyone is "A,Z,X or D Plan,and Dealers HAVE to accept a short deal or another will.
The farther West you travel the more these Limited Production Vehicles will bring.
Most Dealers out here will not accept Plan Pricing on SVT's.Most also have large Addendums in addition to MSRP pricing.
For example,we [in the Southwest] are starting to see a rebound in the SVT Lightning's as they are getting to be few and far between and there won't be any New Models Produced for at least 18-24 mos.
I believe once the Novelty of the NEW 'Stang wears off and Hertz/Budget etc buy up several thousand for Rental Cars.The Limited Edition '03-'04 Cobras will "rebound" and bring more Money.
-Hang in there a few months and you'll be fine!