please help - automatic transmission question????????? - MustangForums.com


V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-17-2009, 03:28 PM   #1
TEXASGT/CS
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
TEXASGT/CS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 586
Default please help - automatic transmission question?????????

2001 V6, Car will not go into gear, (it will start tho)the button on the side of the shifter appears to be stuck, however if you turn the key on click (before accessories come on) the button will work and the car can be put into neutral and started, then it is drive-able, also the brake lights are not working, not sure if this is part of the same issue.

please help!!!!!!!!!!!
TEXASGT/CS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:55 PM   #2
mik09
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: tx
Posts: 69
Default

that happened to me once in a honda i had, same excat problem i could put it in neutral start it and drive, but from park it would start then do nothing. it turned out to be my brake fuse, which i found out after i had spend money on new brake switch. so i would say check that first
mik09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 03:58 PM   #3
TEXASGT/CS
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
TEXASGT/CS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Fort Worth Texas
Posts: 586
Default

thanks. I will check it out.
TEXASGT/CS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-17-2009, 04:00 PM   #4
mik09
1st Gear Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: tx
Posts: 69
Default

let me know if that helps
mik09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 01:08 AM   #5
Motor21Craft
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 3
Default

Hello I am new and I found this thread....I am having the same problem as above on my wife's 2000 stang......I have replaced the brake light switch at the top of the pedal.....Still no love, so I am wondering about a fuse or another option....I will check out the fuses and see if any "Brake" related ones are blown. It starts fine, if I put the key in accessory and put it in neutral and then start it....Runs fine, just no Brake lights!!! Period. Thanks in advance for any suggestions....
Motor21Craft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 03:22 AM   #6
drewskee89
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 17
Default

It happened to me about a month ago and I fixed it myself and haven't had a problem since.

In my case one of the wires from the brake interlock switch had just rotted out so all i had to do was strip the end of it and open the switch and reattach it. I also used some electrical tape to give it some extra sturdiness.

Hope this helped.

Last edited by drewskee89; 12-05-2009 at 03:25 AM.
drewskee89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 06:49 AM   #7
Motor21Craft
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: VA
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks, I noticed that the black, wire when I replaced the switch looked to be broken off....So I did the same thing, but now I am wondering since it didn't fix the problem if somehow a fuse could have blown in the process...We shall see...Thanks for the quick response.
Motor21Craft is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 08:46 AM   #8
sIx
4th Gear Member
 
sIx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Greenville, NC
Posts: 1,901
Default

I just fixed a problem like that on a friends '05 F150. It was his brake light switch that went bad.
sIx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 12:04 PM   #9
Matt's 95 Stang
Resident Ginger
 
Matt's 95 Stang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Cali
Posts: 4,623
Default

I dont have a auto so Im taking a shot in the dark. Dont Autos have a Brake Nutral Safty switch or something like that, that can go bad causing the car not to shift.

Matthew
Matt's 95 Stang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-05-2009, 12:51 PM   #10
Fink
5th Gear Member
 
Fink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,290
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Matt's 95 Stang View Post
I dont have a auto so Im taking a shot in the dark. Dont Autos have a Brake Nutral Safty switch or something like that, that can go bad causing the car not to shift.

Matthew
Yes they do.
Fink is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wheel Question! (New member, hi folks) Tivo304 New Member Area 4 12-05-2015 08:46 PM
My idea of Best Bang for Your Buck Car. What do you guys think? mungodrums 5.0L GT S550 Tech 7 10-07-2015 04:01 AM
AODE Woes Pyrate Dave 5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang 8 09-10-2015 07:30 PM
The Future of my GT vintageaion 2005-2014 Mustangs 2 09-08-2015 10:45 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:21 AM.