Notices
V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

Will V8 motor bolt to V6 trans???

Old 03-24-2010, 08:37 AM
  #1  
LyleStyle
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
LyleStyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Default Will V8 motor bolt to V6 trans???

k....before I get people telling me I shouldn't do this, I was just wondering if this is possible. I know its not the right way to do it. I use this car as my daily driver and I wanted to drop a simple V8 carb. motor into the car and hopefully bolt it up to the stock V6 trans. Is this possible? I was just thinking that the reason people say to replace the rear end and the trans went dropping a V8 in, is because they are not built strong enough to handle the V8 power. I was planning on babying the car and not getting on it while the V6 trans and rear end was in it until I can afford to replace those because it would take me about a year to save up enough money to get a trans and rear end.
LyleStyle is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 10:32 AM
  #2  
PNYXPRESS
5th Gear Member
 
PNYXPRESS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Clermont, FL
Posts: 2,952
Default

Auto or manual?
PNYXPRESS is offline  
Old 03-24-2010, 11:54 AM
  #3  
NeoTokyo
6th Gear Member
 
NeoTokyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,524
Default

The T5 can bolt up to a 289, 302, 351 but you will MAY into problems with the input being too long for pre 1994' Windsor motors.
NeoTokyo is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 12:01 PM
  #4  
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports
 
projectresto83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,012
Default

Originally Posted by NeoTokyo View Post
The T5 can bolt up to a 289, 302, 351 but you will MAY into problems with the input being too long for pre 1994' Windsor motors.
Nope. The only difference in the t5's for the 94+ and pre 94 is the input shaft and bellhousing. They are longer/deeper to accommodate the slightly longer body and to place the shifter in the correct location. When swapping to the v8 you WILL have to have a v8 bell housing because of the starter's location is different between a v6 and v8 bell.
projectresto83 is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 01:17 PM
  #5  
NeoTokyo
6th Gear Member
 
NeoTokyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 6,524
Default

Im not wrong, your just offering more information.

I've commented on this before and others as well, searching would help greatly and I didnt want to get into another classic "Neo's Posts are too long!"

If he uses a 94+ V6 T5 on a pre 94' motor he may run into that problem with the input shaft.

I say MAY because I have never measured the other way on a V8. The 94+ are 5/16" longer if I remember correctly.

OP:
Being a 94' Your best bet is to buy a wrecked 94/95 GT and swap it all over, then swap over to a carbed setup if you want and sell off the rest/part out the wrecked GT.
NeoTokyo is offline  
Old 03-25-2010, 01:26 PM
  #6  
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports
 
projectresto83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,012
Default

Originally Posted by NeoTokyo View Post
Im not wrong, your just offering more information.

I've commented on this before and others as well, searching would help greatly and I didnt want to get into another classic "Neo's Posts are too long!"

If he uses a 94+ V6 T5 on a pre 94' motor he may run into that problem with the input shaft.

I say MAY because I have never measured the other way on a V8. The 94+ are 5/16" longer if I remember correctly.

OP:
Being a 94' Your best bet is to buy a wrecked 94/95 GT and swap it all over, then swap over to a carbed setup if you want and sell off the rest/part out the wrecked GT.

NM for some reason I read the being as bearing. It is actually .67 inches so about 11/16 difference in the input shaft. The 94+ is 7.85 while the older are 7.18
projectresto83 is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 11:14 AM
  #7  
LyleStyle
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
LyleStyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Default

I'm actually talking about using the stock transmission that is in it now. Its a 2000, 5 sp. I just wanted to know if a 289 or 302 V8 carb motor will bolt right up to the transmission I have in there now.

Also, are you guys saying that the transmission that comes stock on a 2000 V6 is a T5 transmission?
LyleStyle is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 11:17 AM
  #8  
LyleStyle
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
LyleStyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Default

I re-read your post and I'm getting confused. So a 289 or 302 (no matter the year) will bolt up ok without problems? I'm not interested in the 351. Just checking. thanks
LyleStyle is offline  
Old 03-26-2010, 11:49 AM
  #9  
projectresto83
M.A.D. Motorsports
 
projectresto83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indiana
Posts: 8,012
Default

Again, as long as you use a 94/95 GT bell housing yes it will.
projectresto83 is offline  
Old 03-29-2010, 11:57 AM
  #10  
LyleStyle
2nd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
LyleStyle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 190
Default

k....Thanks

What about the oil pan. Would that clear everything ok or would I need one off a 94/95 302?
LyleStyle is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Will V8 motor bolt to V6 trans???


Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.