V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

P0172 Please help!! Out of Ideas

Search this Thread

Old 04-06-2019, 12:37 AM
oceanman123

Question P0172 Please help!! Out of Ideas

First time posting.... Now that I have been fighting with this issue for almost two months, I really need help with this thing. I will make it as detailed as possible as well.

So in mid February I started noticing drastic drops/unstable in RPM after cold starts (below 500) at idle. I cleaned the throttle body and check for any leak, but did nothing, only to make it actually worse. I got the cel soon after, and it turned out to be 2nd cylinder misfire. At this point I went ahead and replaced all six sparkplugs and injectors, followed by brand new wires, coil pack, and also air filter. The problem turned out to be caused by the busted wires and the old coil pack.

After all those replacement it threw a code P0175 (system too rich on bank 2). My mechanic recommended MAF sensor replacement, which I did right away. Didn't help. Slowly it had gotten worse with rough idle, hesitation, power loss----typical symptoms for the code.
Then I took it to mechanic for full diagnostics, and they found out that the fuel injector #3 (brand new) was defective. So I order another one, and replaced it with #3. Didn't help.
I brought it in again to see what's going on, and then they told me injector #4 was defective. Surprisingly, they actually put #3 back in place of #4 because when they tested #3 it seemed okay. Of course, it didn't help.