Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

newbie air intake questions...

Search this Thread

Old 03-25-2006, 03:55 AM
cmallett1
1st Gear Member

Default newbie air intake questions...

I am VERY new to all of this, but learning as I go. Any help would be appreciated.
Basically, I am not looking to win, or even participate in for that matter, any races. To be honest, I'm not even that much of a speeder... well ok, maybe I am sometimes... at least since I got this car. But what I DO enjoy while cruising around, is the quick acceleration... the "pushed back into my seat" feeling I get when I decide to stomp down on that pedal. So what I would like, is to add more of THAT, if possible. From reading around on this forum, it looks to me like replacing the stock air intake with a cool air intake, changing to a custom tuning, and maybe replacing the stock muffler with a more efficient one would be the way to get what I am after (but I'm not interested in putting in a dual muffler). Am I right? I mean, are you guys just talking numbers here, or are you talking about something I will actually FEEL when I get down on the accelerator? Forgive me if that sounds stupid, but I just really don't know.
If I spend the money to put on a cool air intake, will I FEEL that difference when I hop in and take my first cruise down the road once its installed? And again, if I double the money spent and get the custom tuning along with the cool air intake, will I FEEL that much more difference over just getting the cool air intake (one that doesn't require a reflash of course)? Same with the muffler.