Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Rear Bumper-First Attempt Failed

Search this Thread

Old 06-13-2008, 11:56 AM
AlloySixxer
3rd Gear Member

Default Rear Bumper-First Attempt Failed

My new rear GT bumper came in today and I thought I'd try putting it on. I used the How To: Install GT Bumpers thread , but I still couldn't manage it. I'm not much of a mechanic, so I'll need some help. I took pictures of my problems though! This is my first time posting pictures so sorry if they're too big. Please help me!

Ok here is the thread > https://mustangforums.com/m_1121391/tm.htm

Here is the Rear Bumper Diagram > http://www.2005stang.com/gallery/alb...r%20bumper.pdf

First step is to remove trunk trim to reveal 4 nuts. So I took this off, and the nuts were there!

I assume these are the nuts. Now howam I supposed to get any sort of tool in there to remove these?

^^ These are the middle two nuts. There is another to each side.

^^ Close up

Once I get those off the next step is to remove the four screws on the fender liners. There are two on each side.

The top screw is a piece of cake, you just use a screw driver. The problem is there is no room anywhere to fit a screwdriver to take the bottom one out.
Old 06-13-2008, 12:05 PM
CroDalmatinac
4th Gear Member

Default RE: Rear Bumper-First Attempt Failed

You use a deep socket on the inside and did you try removing the wheel...
Old 06-13-2008, 12:05 PM
Its A Stang Thang
2nd Gear Member

I installed my GT Bumpers over a year ago, but I remember having similar issues. First off getting at the bolts is easy, find an extender for your ratchet, then work at a slight angle, and you will take care of that.