Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Trying to decide a V6 or V8?

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2008, 10:23 PM
fastback79

Default Trying to decide a V6 or V8?

Going to purchase a daily driver (20 miles round trip to work) does anyone regret not getting a V8 or are you satisfied with your V6?
Old 08-03-2008, 10:33 PM
Torch_Vert
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Trying to decide a V6 or V8?

I'm very satisfied. I bought my 4.0 more as a recreational/project car, and it's done everything I've asked of it well. If I were buying one as a daily driver, I'd go the 4.0 route without hesitation.
Old 08-03-2008, 10:44 PM
thenatural
2nd Gear Member

If your going 20 miles round trip, to be honest, thats short in my book. I love my 6 but would maybe take an 8 if insurance wasnt so much more. The 4.0 engine though is a very good engine and many mods for it if you go that route!
Old 08-03-2008, 10:51 PM
1badV6
2nd Gear Member

4.0 alll the way the 4.6 is nice but the insurance is killer
Old 08-03-2008, 10:53 PM
rock61992
1st Gear Member

You know at first i wished i had a GT, but honestly i love my sixxer, and the several grand you will save can easily go towards modding your car and making it your own. With the few mods i have(dual exhaust, tint, wheels & tires, and remote start alarm) i get stares from all over the place as if it was a $60,000 beast. Unless you are planning on doing some hard core street racing, id say the 4.0 is a perfect daily driver. Good looks, good sound (with exhaust) and your sixxer would get you from A to B in style and would always keep you happy without the overkill of haveing a V8 for a DD. Good luck either way you go, and welcome to mustang forums as well as the rest of the mustang world.
Old 08-03-2008, 11:03 PM
kpaulhus
4th Gear Member