Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

applying vinyl rally stripes? can i do this myself?

Search this Thread

Old 09-09-2008, 02:43 PM
mach1na
2nd Gear Member

Default applying vinyl rally stripes? can i do this myself?

ok so i have been putting this off for 2 years and it is the mod i've been wanting to add most to my car ever since i've bought it. i was wondering how hard this would be to do myself because i can't seem to find a body shop locally that'll do it for a reasonable amount. has anyone tried it themselves? California Concepts in Redwood City quoted me at $1500 for VINYL and double that for painted which seems way over the top to me. Anybody in the bay area know of any good shops that'll do this for me? And has anyone applied them themselves? Thank you!!!!
Old 09-09-2008, 03:22 PM
GstangT
3rd Gear Member

Are you f***ing kidding me? $1,500 to apply YOUR vinyl?! But this is definitely do-able by yourself. I've seen a bunch of people do this on the forums by themselves and it came out great. Just be patient and most importantly take your time. Tape off your center line first, and remember use a lot of water + soap or some other lubricant as you apply.
Old 09-09-2008, 08:27 PM
MR305
1st Gear Member

My brother did his on his black mustang and he helped me do mines and it took us 2 days working in the morning and afternoon after the sun went away. It is doable just need to patient and take your time.. If you are going to do it yourself, do it when there is no sun or inside garage... the only pain in the neck is the front bumper...

Old 09-09-2008, 08:34 PM
mach1na
2nd Gear Member