Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Fuel Economy dropping every day

Search this Thread

Old 09-14-2008, 11:24 PM
maxshuty
4th Gear Member

Default Fuel Economy dropping every day

Ok, before I get on with this post I have to say-- YES I know there are many threads out there with this. And that "I shouldn't own a mustang if I want good fuel econ"

With that said, I Love my Mustang, fuel economy does hurt my wallet though lately (hey, I'm a college student!)

It seems that lately my fuel economy is just getting worse and worse... When I first got the car a couple months ago it was actually great (around 350-375 miles per tank), now I'm averaging about 250-300 miles per tank. Last tank I measured was about 300miles to the tank (for about 15 gallons). I filled it up again and now since I last filled it up my tank is 1/4 gone and on my trip odometer it says 60 miles, so 60 x 4 = 240 miles to this tank?! Something seems wrong as it is getting worse and worse it seems like...

The only mod I've done is put a K&N Air filter in it (which if anything should improve MPG)

Could it be the oil I'm using?? My last oil change is around the time I started to notice it getting a little worse (if I remember right). I believe I put Mobil5000 in it (I'd have to check to make sure).

Last fillup I didn't drive conservatively and I averaged about 75 miles per 1/4 tank. My fillup after that one (the one I'm on right now) I've drove VERY conservatively (even 55 on the highway) and I'm getting worse mpg...

Also if I let my car sit for a while and start it up and rev up the engine it makes a Popping noise. Could this be the culprit? What is this noise?? I only does it on startup if I rev it (I havent checked if its still doing it for a week or so).

Something seems wrong here, help?!?

-Thanks, Max