Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Two questions

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2009, 01:12 PM
maxshuty
4th Gear Member

Default Two questions

I've got two quick questions:

My car has around 43k miles on it now (I put on 20,000+ miles in my first year of owning it, yikes!) and I'm not sure when, or how to tell, if the serpentine belt needs to be changed. At around 2000 RPMs I can here a squeel that sounds like a belt. It only happens at 2000 RPMs for a quick second then the sound goes away. I'm no mechanic and have no idea if its a belt or not but to me thats what it sounds like... Is there any way to tell if the belts going bad? If so is the replacement an easy DIY job or is it a mechanic-only job?

My second question is, and I know I've asked a million about this, but anyways: I'm probably buying a CAI+Tuner very soon but for those of you that have one is it truley worth the ~$500? Is the difference really that great? Is it a difference like "WOW this car feels SO much faster!!" or "Eh, its a bit quicker"
Old 11-06-2009, 01:40 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish

If the belt has pieces missing in the teeth or the sides are flakey it's definitely time to replace it. I gerally repace rubber every 4 years or 48K miles.

As for the CAI + Tune search option is the best option
Old 11-06-2009, 01:43 PM
ODDYSEY
Site Moderator of Fury!

It sounds like the belt needs to be replaced if it is squeeling, or maybe just some tightening.

CAI/Tuner is worth EVERY penny of the $500. Yes it is THAT big of a difference if you go with someone like bama/brenspeed/evo etc.
Old 11-06-2009, 02:44 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member