Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

CAI question

Search this Thread

Old 03-15-2010, 09:41 PM
himynameislorenzo

Default CAI question

I'm new to customizing and performance upgrades, but I've heard that CAI is a good place to start. I've been doing a lot of research over the past few months, and I'm considering a K&N FIPK for now (no tunes for now, too expensive). But over the past couple days, I've been reading over some other forum discussions about how if you're getting a CAI for a V6, you're really just paying for the brand name, that "eBay" CAIs (that are a fraction of the price of name brands) are just as good. Any credibility to this? Because if so, I'd consider looking around eBay sellers instead of name brand.
Old 03-15-2010, 09:52 PM
legendlime05
4th Gear Member

id avoid a ebay cai.
Old 03-15-2010, 09:54 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

A stand-alone CAI on an S197 is a waste. You might gain 3-4 RWHP which is only noticeable if you have a well-calibrated butt dyno. Save your money and get a CAI & tune combo where you can feel the difference. The CAI gains more from the tune and is STILL only about 20% of the power adder. The tune is what really puts it all in perspective.

And if you had REALLY done your research you'd know that. It's plastered all over the forums.

Last edited by Nuke; 03-15-2010 at 09:57 PM.
Old 03-15-2010, 09:54 PM
chronos
3rd Gear Member

Most "cheapbay" CAI are just for looks, that's why they are cheap. If they don't cause you to throw a code, they won't make any improvements without a tune.
Old 03-16-2010, 08:46 AM
kevinmalec
5th Gear Member

I highly recommend a tune/CAI combo. I purchased the Airaid CAI, which does not require a tune, however once I installed it I only felt minimal gains at high RPMS. Maybe 5-7 HP.