Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Think my pads and/or rotors are bad after only 27k

Search this Thread

Old 03-21-2010, 02:09 PM
satur9poet
2nd Gear Member

Default Think my pads and/or rotors are bad after only 27k

I think my brakes are going and am concerned, seeing that my car only has 27000 miles on it...thing is, I'm new to anti-lock brakes and have heard that stopping distance for ABS is longer than conventional braking systems, so that might have something to do with it.

Lately the brake pedal feels mushy, especially at slow speeds. But the "mushiness" is intermittent--other times I go to apply the brakes and the pedal firms up, nearly sending me thru the windshield!

The latest thing I've noticed is pulsation at speeds above 50 mph...to me, that spells bad rotors. But how can this be with such low miles on the car? Have I worn the pads down so thin that the rotors are now taking a beating? Advice is appreciated!
Old 03-21-2010, 05:23 PM
Nuke
6th Gear Member

Rotors can warp if overheated straight off the showroom floor; it's not an age-related or mileage related thing. If you're doing a lot of high speed and/or hard braking or riding your brakes, then you've likely warped them. Premature wearing out pads and warped rotors tell me that you're hard on your brakes. They don't get that way by themselves.
Old 03-21-2010, 06:19 PM
satur9poet
2nd Gear Member

Maybe I need to slow the hell down, lol! Because of crazy traffic I do have to slam on the brakes several times during a typical commute to avoid idiots who for some reason loooove to make abrupt left turns right in front of me and/ or cut me off. Sad.
Old 03-21-2010, 07:07 PM
chronos
3rd Gear Member

I had to replace the wife's brakes on her Rav at around 25K. I think they are just making brakes much softer now. Either that or you women really love to ride those brakes.