Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Performance Upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 03-22-2011, 10:39 PM
Tanner05
Chop Mod

Default Performance Upgrades

When I start modding the Mustang again, I'm threw with appearance and want to start getting into the performance end of things. I'm completely new to this, but I think I want to start with a throttle body, spacer, CAI and a tune. How much of an HP gain can I expect from this set up?

I have some time to think about it and want to do the most gains without going for a turbo or supercharger.... YET
Old 03-22-2011, 10:44 PM
Avalanch3
4th Gear Member

Throttle body spacer is a good paper weight, not a good performance mod. Many people experience problems with them and see no gains from it.

As for a CAI, JLT and CnL are the best because they require a tune. Order a tuner package and request a race tune with the highest octane available in your area and you'd be set.

Do you have an exhaust?
Old 03-22-2011, 10:44 PM
aaquib1992
4th Gear Member

Ive got the cai and tune. Gotta say, its almost like night and day in the throttle response alone. Get that first, its easy, relatively cost effective-not exactly cheap at around $300 but does increase MPG's (lol). But I have no idea with the other two you mentioned, sorries...

Also, I was meaning to ask you- how does that flowmaster sound? sorry for threadjack but I was looking for a slightly louder stock sound. Is that kinda what its like? Cause I dislike the popping I hear with some stangs, and am worried about that. Thanks T!
Old 03-22-2011, 10:48 PM
obxdude018
3rd Gear Member