Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

V6 performance package pros and cons

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2012, 07:38 AM
jesse1125
2nd Gear Member

Default V6 performance package pros and cons

I was wondering what the pros and cons are from those who have the performance package?

I plan to order my car next year and am debating on whether I should add the performance package to the base model. This car will just be my DD and will not see a track. I like the bigger wheels, better rear end gear, better sway bars, springs and brakes.

So I want to see what others like and don't like about their performance package to see if it's worth getting. Thanks
Old 09-22-2012, 09:49 AM
jeremy813
1st Gear Member

I'm not an expert, but...

1. I don't like the bigger wheels/tires. They are a little too tall at 27.2", so you lose some of the gearing advantage. They are going to be replaced with 18's and 275/35/18's sometime in the future.
2. Not happy with the stock springs and shocks, they are getting replaced immediately.
3. Not happy with the stock brakes, the pads and fluid will be replaced soon. It feels really spongy also, so I guess I need to do the lines also?

So I guess the only thing I am keeping is the rear end, sway bars, and special traction control setting (probably will never use it). And I guess having the nicer wheels on standby is a good thing too.

I would say if you are leaving the car stock it's good, if you plan on modifying it might be better to just get the rear end and buy everything else aftermarket.
Old 09-22-2012, 09:59 AM
jeremy813
1st Gear Member

Also, the only regret I have is not getting the Recaros. I couldn't find a car with Recaros that I liked and didn't want to order a car.

It's only a $1600 (?) option, but if you try to buy the seats later, they are about $3000 and I am not sure if that includes rails or not.