New Jersey Emission test - MustangForums.com


V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Reply
 
 
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-17-2013, 12:12 PM   #1  
jayh007
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 77
Default New Jersey Emission test

It's time for inspection. I have a Diablosport tune in the car. Has anyone passed NJ emission test with a tune installed?
jayh007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 02:32 PM   #2  
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

When I lived in NJ, you could fail the test, tweak the carb, get back in line and retake the test. If you think you'll fail, get an emissions-friendly tune from AM but see if you pass w/o the new tune. If you fail, load the new tune and take the test again.
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 03:07 PM   #3  
kevinmalec
5th Gear Member
 
kevinmalec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 3,666
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayh007 View Post
It's time for inspection. I have a Diablosport tune in the car. Has anyone passed NJ emission test with a tune installed?
As Nuke mentioned, it all depends if your current tune is emissions friendly or not. I have emissions friendly tunes from Brenspeed and I have passed every year.

From what I've read, tunes that are not emissions friendly will shut off the 02 sensors.

I would recommend contacting the company or shop that created your tune and ask if the tunes are emissions friendly.

Last edited by kevinmalec; 07-17-2013 at 03:10 PM.
kevinmalec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 03:23 PM   #4  
jayh007
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 77
Default

Bought the car used and the Tune came with the car. I have the Diablo unit can I re-load the stock data and change back? Sorry I'm old school carbs and jets.
jayh007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2013, 04:39 PM   #5  
Nuke
6th Gear Member
 
Nuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PA to KY ('07) to IL ('09) to MS ('10) to FL ('11)
Posts: 16,186
Default

If you reload the stock tune, you'll likely need to re-install the stock airbox or you'll likely throw lean codes. Not sure if you'd pass in that configuration. If NJ still allows you to repeat the test, I'd go for it as-is. Worst case is you have AM write an emission-friendly tune for your Diablosport.
Nuke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 10:33 AM   #6  
kevinmalec
5th Gear Member
 
kevinmalec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 3,666
Default

If you have a Cold Air Intake and don't have the original stock airbox to swap out, you will need to order an emissions friendly tune. Another option would be checking your local Craigslist or go to a local junk yard and buy a used stock airbox for your model car.

As Nuke mentioned, you can order emissions friendly custom tunes from American Muscle and they will email you the tune to upload to your Diablo tuner. Do you have a cable that allows you to plug your Diablo tuner to your computer?
kevinmalec is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 11:24 AM   #7  
jayh007
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: new jersey
Posts: 77
Default

Yes I have a CAI and I did purchased the cable. I'm going to give it try first with what I have. In jersey if you fail they give you 30 days to fix the problem. If it fails I'll try new tune.

Last edited by jayh007; 07-18-2013 at 03:01 PM.
jayh007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2013, 01:24 PM   #8  
GrayPony
4th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location:
Posts: 1,227
Default

You can pass with 1 "not ready", the continious monitors need to be running and the "not ready" cannot be the O2 sensors or Evap.

Last edited by GrayPony; 07-18-2013 at 01:27 PM.
GrayPony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-19-2013, 09:33 AM   #9  
kevinmalec
5th Gear Member
 
kevinmalec's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Acworth, GA
Posts: 3,666
Wink I was going to recommend this. Good luck!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jayh007 View Post
Yes I have a CAI and I did purchased the cable. I'm going to give it try first with what I have. In jersey if you fail they give you 30 days to fix the problem. If it fails I'll try new tune.
I was going to suggest this. Good luck!

Last edited by kevinmalec; 07-19-2013 at 09:38 AM.
kevinmalec is offline   Reply With Quote
 
 
Reply

Related Topics
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hot Lap: 2015 Roush RS3 Test + Build a Supercharger! - AmericanMuscle.com AMAlexLazarus AmericanMuscle.com 0 10-01-2015 09:21 AM
Reminder - Steeda Pony Wars October 17th [email protected] Florida Regional Chapter 0 09-30-2015 08:04 PM
CNET Test Drives 2015 Ford Mustang Shelby GT350 MustangForums Editor GT350 S550 Tech 1 09-29-2015 03:29 PM
Please help! 10 Check engine codes mrtrodonet V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 1 09-29-2015 11:13 AM
Fuel Pump for 98 3.8L model. Not sure which type? mrappe V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs 0 09-26-2015 10:16 AM


Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Forum Jump

Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.