Notices
V6 S197 General Discussion This section is for technical discussions pertaining specifically to the V6 variation of the 2005 and newer Ford Mustang.

Mod help for 2006 V6 Mustang (Manual)

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2014, 12:01 AM
Madrox

Default Mod help for 2006 V6 Mustang (Manual)

Hi, as you may notice, this is my first post here. I could use some help in choosing my first performance mod for my Manual Transmission '06 Mustang. So far, everything is stock, aside from some appearance mods and 18" wheels. From what I've heard, I should either start with a CAI or Tuner.

One thing that should be mentioned is that I live in suburban Miami. The area I live in frequently creates large puddles when it rains...some that aren't easily seen. This is what worries me about a CAI. I don't want to take any risks regarding my engine.

Keep in mind, I am a college student, so I can't just go and order a CAI + Tuner and a dual exhaust conversion kit altogether. Essentially, I'd like to get the biggest bang for my buck.

Another thing to be noted is that I'd really rather not change the octane tune of my car (if I were to get a tuner), since I want to be paying as little as possible for gas. So for me, I don't need to be the most powerful guy on the street to sleep well at night. I'm looking for a combination of power (and maybe a small MPG boost) and perhaps noise enhancement to be happy right now. I almost exclusively city drive, so I can't be driving that fast (mostly 35-45 MPH zones).

Sorry for the long read. Any help would be appreciated!
Old 08-03-2014, 12:22 AM
yourmom6990
4th Gear Member