5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Hard starting issue

Search this Thread

Old 10-07-2015, 10:37 AM
Synster

Default Hard starting issue

First off new to the site. While I'm not an expert in car mechanics I'm fairly good at figuring things out. I'll try and put as much info as I can into this question so hopefully can get a good answer. I have an 87 GT 5 speed. Aside from the normal issue associated with the crappy starter not working when it gets hot I havnt had much issues. About 2-3 weeks ago the car wouldn't even try to crank. Removed the starter and it checked good. Ended up being the solenoid. After I replaced it everything seemed fine. The other day when I went to start it to go to work it acted like a low battery/heat soaked starter. The next day did the same thing although there was also a strange noise like the starter was loose. Made sure the starter bolts were good that night. Next morning it would barely crank over and needed to jump it. Had the battery checked and it was good and fully charged. While doing this noticed that I was quite low on oil. Drained it and filled it up. Tried to start this morning and same thing, barely cranks and made a weird clunk noise. Jumped it and it starts no problem and no noise. Runs fine once its started and no noises from the engine. I have no check engine light, no codes. I have a faint hope that it could be just the low oil and once it gets spread out from going to work it will start fine later today but I'm not sure. Has anyone else experienced anything like this or heard of it. Seems strange that with a good battery it would act like that on start but start and sound normal when I jump it. Any suggestions are appreciated as long as they aren't outrageous ie. "Change the motor". I know its 28 yrs old and I'm working on getting a swap but don't have the time right now. Tha