5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Mis-fire & backfire

Search this Thread

Old 05-08-2016, 03:01 AM
SuddenImpact

Default Mis-fire & backfire

Hey guys, first off, I'm not too good with cars, but I'm learning as I go. I think I definitely got took on my purchase, but I'm doing what I can to get her in shape again. I have the 95 GT, So far I have replaced the following:
Radiator, thermostat (and housing), starter, alternator, clutch, throwout bearing, pressure plate, flywheel, cold air intake, mass air flow sensor, rack n pinion, distributor (had timing set), cap, rotor, plugs & wires, exhaust from the headers back, I've found and fixed a few vacuum leaks as well.

The problem, is it will randomly start to mis-fire, and backfire out of the headers while driving, it sounds like the passenger side. Sometimes it will clear up on its own after a minute, or usually turning the car off and back on will make it run fine again.

I've had it to a couple different shops, neither could figure out what is wrong. I had one tell me that my motor was blown because they couldn't get it running at all. I picked it up, set the timing again because they loosened the distributor for some reason and left it that way... and it ran fine again with an exception of the random mis-fire.

Anyways, I'm at a loss.. I really don't think its the motor, it runs strong most of the time, and if it was the motor it really don't seem to me like turning it off and back on would solve the problem at all. I'm running out of money though and cant afford to just keep throwing parts at it, so any advice would be GREATLY appreciated!

Thanks guys!
Old 05-08-2016, 03:28 AM
SuddenImpact