Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Need help installing a Alpine CDE-9870 to stock Mach 460 system!!

Search this Thread

Old 08-15-2007, 08:01 PM
Schizman221

Default Need help installing a Alpine CDE-9870 to stock Mach 460 system!!

Hey everyone, I am new to forums and I am also a noob when it comes to audio so I need your HELP!!!

Ok, so I bought an Alpine CDE-9870 head unit along with the infamous Metra 70-5519 wire harness for my 02 mustang gt. I also got the metra installation kit but that doesn't matter right now. I want to install the head unit only and leave the factory Mach 460 amps and subs in there. The problem I am having is when I install everything and power up the radio, there is very little to no bass at all from the subs, but that is the only problem everything else works. The Alpine does have the RCA outputs in the back and I did make sure all of the wires are connected to where they are supposed to go, according to the wiring diagrams. If it matters I did connect all of the ground wires together from the radio and wire harness. I also soldered the wires to make sure they didn't come apart. The head unit does have the built-in high pass crossover but not the low pass, does the low pass have something to do with the problem???

Also, the metra wire harness only connects to 2 of the 3 plugs that were originally in the stock head unit, the one that is not being used has I think 3 wires connected to it. Could this be the problem??

I really need your help guys, I don't want to go back to the stock head unit that only plays CD's!!

Thanks and I hope we can work this out together.

P.S. - If you guys need any pictures of anything let me know.
Old 08-16-2007, 12:27 PM
ttocs
6th Gear Member

Default RE: Need help installing a Alpine CDE-9870 to stock Mach 460 system!!

breath in, breath out.....................