Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

11 GT Shaker 500 with Nav - speaker upgrade questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-02-2013, 06:16 PM
artdohc
1st Gear Member

Default 11 GT Shaker 500 with Nav - speaker upgrade questions

Hey everyone,

So I'm new to all this, go easy on me.

I took my mustang into a car stereo shop and told the guy running the place that I'd like to improve the sound quality of the stereo and get a little more bass. He recommended a good 10" subwoofer with an amp, but he also wanted me to install some sort of device that disables the cars speed-sensing controls.

He said that as the car goes faster the stereo increases in volume, but it negatively affects sound quality, especially for low-end bass.

He said the device cost $500 and would be the best modification to my cars sound quality...but I've never heard of this before. Any thoughts?

I ended up purchasing the sub and amp (Hertz ES250 10" and a Memphis amp)
, but I didn't take him up on the other device.

I'm happy with the bass, but the sound quality in my car still sucks. I'm am handy, but I have ZERO experience with audio installation, so I'm not sure if I can take on installation of speakers.

What do you guys think? Is the guy smoking crack about this device? Should I be focusing on door speakers or a new amp? Imagine you already had a sub and had no intention of replacing the factory Nav and I gave you $300...what would you do first? What if I gave you $500?

Thanks!
Old 12-02-2013, 06:57 PM
TwentyThirteen
1st Gear Member

Your stock receiver allows you to shut off the speed::volume control. A "device" to disable the function seems a little off-putting to me. It's not totally outrageous to think there might be some kind of mod chip, but why bother? Just shut it off.