Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

Thinking about the Flaming River box...

Search this Thread

Old 01-30-2008, 03:18 PM
redstallion
2nd Gear Member

Default Thinking about the Flaming River box...

I've got a 67 V8 with PS and 115k on the clock. I know the R&P setup is the best way to go, but i think i'll be looking for the 2nd best option because of my headers, lack of $, and the mods needed to do the swap.

My stock steering box is really loose and the steering is also really light. I'm used to it since I've been driving it for 4 years, but it's time to upgrade. I've already put almost all new front suspension on it so that is tight.....and I have adjusted the screw on the box....it helped for a little bit but it seems worse than ever now.

So I'm seriously considering the FR box and keeping my PS. Does anyone else have that setup? I've heard that it is a lot tighter and holds up better, but will i feel more resistance in the wheel too? Thanks for any help
Old 01-30-2008, 07:26 PM
stanger53
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Thinking about the Flaming River box...

A lot tighter?
Well, tighter than your loose box. Tighter than the original box when it was new, or a properly rebuilt original box? No. If you don't get a good one, you may be worse off.

Holds up better?
No. Argentine made and the internal parts are not as nicely machined as original pieces. Though the FR box advertises as having needle bearing construction like it was a big selling point, the original Mustang boxes used needle bearings also. The FR box, though advertised as all new, only has a one year warranty. Most rebuilds have at least this, the better ones have a longer warranty.

On the other hand, quite a few people have been pleased with them. If you have adjusted your original box, and it was better then got worse, you probably over-adjusted it and have now ruined the rack block and sector teeth in it, and it will never be tight again.