Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

summit exhaust system

Search this Thread

Old 02-08-2008, 05:24 PM
sixtysevenstang
1st Gear Member

Default summit exhaust system

hi, i recently bought a summit exhaust system for my 67 coupeoff a friend of mine who ordered it for his 65, and realized he didnt want the tailpipes toexit out the sidesin front of the back tires, so he sold it to me, becasue thatshow i want mine. anyways, my car soundsabsolutly incredible with open headers, i had alot of work done to the engine, and im afraid ill loose that soundonce i install the pipes. this is my firstmustangwith a worked engine and i want to know if the summit muflers and 2.5 inch pipe will be ok along withthe engine i have. will it choke the engine out? this may be a dumb question but i dont know. how much will the mufflers quiet the car down? should i keep the pipes and get better mufflers, or just install it and see what happens? im new at all this. been around cars my whole life, but this is the first one that I am doing myself. thanks for any help, its greatly appreciated!
Old 02-08-2008, 05:39 PM
cmanf
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: summit exhaust system

Dude I hear ya on the sound!
I have a s/c 347 wicked cam shakes everything in my neighborhood.
Fact is a good h pipe and flowmasters,magna or whatever flows good will make power not take it away.
You need back pressure. Plus only so much you can take after a while on the freeway cruising about 2300 BWAAAA!!!!!!!!
The tickets would add up fast here. lol

Where Im lost @ is the 2.5" vs 3" on what we have for engines. Way above stock.
Ill let you know when I find out what ill do.
Old 02-08-2008, 11:00 PM
sixtysevenstang
1st Gear Member