Convertible Tech This section is only for questions or information relating to a convertible. Questions about drivetrain modifications should still be posted in the engine specific sections.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Driver's Side Window Alignment

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2009, 10:40 PM
Phateless

Default Driver's Side Window Alignment

EDIT - Yes, of course I searched. I may be a noob here but I've used forums before.

It rolls up too far toward the the front of the car, leaving a small gap between the top rear of the driver window and the top front of the left rear quarter window, if that makes sense...

Will take a pic when it's not dark.

I took off the door panel today and played with it and noticed that when halfway up (or down, depending on your optimism level) the window is free to slide fore and aft in the door.

I checked all the nuts and they were all tight. I'm at a loss here. WTF is this about?!

How do I fix it?

Thanks guys!

Last edited by Phateless; 08-22-2009 at 12:47 PM.
Old 08-21-2009, 05:32 PM
Phateless

BUMP - I know this is a common problem, I read all about it when I searched, I just didn't find a single fix.
Old 08-21-2009, 06:05 PM
WhiteFoxGT
Resident Ford Troll

Check the track the window slides on. Theres a track all the way in the front by the mirror then one in the back with a plastic roller slide. I've seen these come loose. Also, check the condition of the front window seal (right behind the mirror)
Old 08-21-2009, 06:10 PM
WhiteFoxGT
Resident Ford Troll

Also, check the seal on the body where the rear of the window contacts the back window when the door is closed. I've had to rebuild the whole guts and seals of a vert sixxer not too long ago. Window popped out of track, wrecked the seals, bent the regulator.
Old 08-22-2009, 12:53 PM
Phateless

Thanks for the replies!

Originally Posted by WhiteFoxGT