V6 (1994-2004) Mustangs Technical discussions on the 3.8L and 3.9L V6 torque monsters

2001 mustang wont start, no fuel, no spark

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2014, 11:15 PM
2000BlkGtConvgobucks
1st Gear Member

Default 2001 mustang wont start, no fuel, no spark

I am attempting to fix a automatic 2001 mustang v6 with 100,000 miles that will not start. I’m not a novice to mustangs, I have owned 3 GT’s myself that stretches over the past 12 years. The problem began with the engine periodically not starting. The car would start and be driven around all day, but then the next morning or afternoon, it would not start again. The very next day the car would run fine again. This continued for a couple weeks until eventually it would not start at all and the battery ran dead after several hours of failed diagnosis. I own an ecm scanner so I checked the car a couple times during the period that the car was partially working and the only codes it was throwing were egr, and a misfire (both common mustang bs). The car also has a “check gas cap” mil as well. The car is my girlfriends and she said that it has been on since she has had the car, I figure that it is unrelated. I attempted to jump the car a week later with my mustang and the car would not start. I checked for spark, which I had been getting before when the car was turning over but not starting, and now there was no spark. I immediately swapped out the single coil pack thinking that was the problem, but it wasn’t and the car still was not starting, nor was it getting spark (the coil was receiving both battery and ignition power). We finally decide to have the car towed by AAA to have one of their shop techs look at it. They come out to tow the car and the guy wants to try jumping it even after I told him I already had my car hooked up to it for 15 minutes. Low and behold the thing starts right up? The car was running really rough, but was completely drivable. We drove it to AAA, parked it and the next day they tell