Installed SF3/X3 for a 2005 mustang GT on a 2009 mustang V6. - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005-2014 Mustangs > GT S197 General Discussion > 4.6L V8 Technical Discussions
Reload this Page >

Installed SF3/X3 for a 2005 mustang GT on a 2009 mustang V6.

Notices
4.6L V8 Technical Discussions Any questions about engine, transmission, or gearing can be asked here!

Installed SF3/X3 for a 2005 mustang GT on a 2009 mustang V6.

Reply

 
 
 
Old 08-06-2015, 10:04 AM
  #1  
'stangdude
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 61
Unhappy Installed SF3/X3 for a 2005 mustang GT on a 2009 mustang V6.

You're probably thinking "Why--why did you do it."

Unfortunately, The title says it all. My girlfriend wanted a tune on her car and wanted to try out the tune I had on my car. Mine is a 2005 mustang GT and hers is an '09 V6. Well, it did not go as planned. I thought it was going to be ok simply because back in the day I had a tune (that used to be on a 2003 mustang gt) on my old 2001 mustang v6. Very stupid of me to assume the same in this case, I know.

Anway, after install, her car (the V6) did not start. Once I returned the car back to stock by using the "return to stock" function on the tuner, the car still did not start.
I disconnected the battery, reconnected and still nothing. I check all of the relays too but nothing.

With all of that being said, I am not sure where to go from here. Is this issue unheard of or do y'all know what it is?

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks,

'stangdude
'stangdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 10:11 AM
  #2  
JimC
Moderator
 
JimC's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 7,119
Default Installed SF3/X3 for a 2005 mustang GT on a 2009 mustang V6.

Unfortunately not unheard of. The tuner is set up for a specific coputer code for your ECU. When you installed your tune on her car you corrupted the file. You probably need to tow it to the dealer for a reflash of the stock tune.
JimC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 10:16 AM
  #3  
'stangdude
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 61
Default

JimC,

Ok. That sounds right. I figured that that was a possibility but I was not 100% sure.

I actually recently got mine reflashed from the dealer and it fixed my fan issue (back in 2014 my fan would burn out because of a bug in my computer that I think could have been from the same bama tuner--which happened shortly after I installed it).

But regardless of its a bad tune or not, that seems to be what needs to be done.
'stangdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 12:06 PM
  #4  
jwog666
5th Gear Member
 
jwog666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: wisconsin
Posts: 2,260
Default

head to the dealer for sure, and follow the directions next time
jwog666 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2015, 12:45 PM
  #5  
'stangdude
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 61
Default

Originally Posted by jwog666 View Post
head to the dealer for sure, and follow the directions next time
Thanks. Yeah it sounds like it's one of those times you just have to let the dealer take over. Wish it wasn't the case. Hopefully it just needs to be reflashed like JimC was saying and it will start.
'stangdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2015, 01:27 PM
  #6  
'stangdude
1st Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Texas
Posts: 61
Default

$105.00 later and all fixed. Definitely not making that mistake again. Thanks guys.
'stangdude is offline  
Reply With Quote
Reply
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
Urambo Tauro
New Member Area
12
12-17-2016 03:30 PM
tbray0331
2005-2014 Mustangs
3
08-14-2015 11:10 AM
djbigskrilla
2005-2014 Mustangs
13
08-11-2015 12:59 PM
daytooday
Motor Swap Section
2
08-11-2015 09:22 AM
philster0306
2005-2014 Mustangs
1
08-10-2015 11:33 AM

Forum Jump

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory