Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Parking brake

Search this Thread

Old 04-11-2008, 12:08 AM
sacrelli

Default Parking brake

Hi,
I just got a 2006 Mustang. I am real protective of it right now and I know this seems like a dumb question but I would really appreciate it if someone would answer it. I accidently put on the parking brake on before putting the car into park tonight. When I realized it I took the parking brake off, and moved the shifter to from drive to park. I then proceeded to put the parking brake on. Did I do anything wrong here? I mean did a mess up anything? It is an automatic. I am new to all this so please be nice.
thanks
Old 04-11-2008, 12:13 AM
MD07gtcs
1st Gear Member

Default RE: Parking brake

No you will be fine I wouldnt worry about it at all.
Old 04-11-2008, 12:16 AM
sacrelli

thanks, I can finally relax. lol.
Old 04-11-2008, 12:19 AM
mygt500
Multi-Tasking Moderator!

No worries but with any auto I never used the parking brake! Personal preference and good to use to lessen the chance of it not working when you need it! JMO J
Old 04-11-2008, 12:24 AM
sacrelli

ORIGINAL: mygt500

No worries but with any auto I never used the parking brake! Personal preference and good to use to lessen the chance of it not working when you need it! JMO J
Hi,
So you recommend not using the parking brake unless I am on a hill, etc? Oh, and you also think that what I did tonight is OK for the car? I mean did I harm it in anyway?
thanks
Old 04-11-2008, 12:28 AM
Rainson
3rd Gear Member

ye,nothing wrong..dont scare to ask questions..u wont go wrong by asking any question here..
Old 04-11-2008, 12:32 AM
AK_Kayaker
3rd Gear Member

Actuallyto take the strain off of the parking pawl, you should be putting the parking brake on before putting it into park.
And most parking brakes that I have seen not working for from nonuse, and the cables rusted inside the outer housing.