Cluster missing select shift - MustangForums.com

Go Back  MustangForums.com > Ford Mustang Tech > 2005-2014 Mustangs
Reload this Page >

Cluster missing select shift

Notices
2005-2014 Mustangs Discussions on the latest S197 model Mustangs from Ford.

Cluster missing select shift

Old 03-13-2019, 08:47 AM
  #1  
Redmetallic2014
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: FL
Posts: 4
Default Cluster missing select shift

Hi everyone, just made an account and this is my first post.

So I recently picked up a premium gauge cluster for my 2014 s197, my issue is when I put the car in sport mode with the select shift It doesnt appear on the cluster to show me what gear I'm in. I know from the feel of the car what gear I'm in but it would be nice to have it back on the cluster also. I figured it's something with the as built data that needs to be adjusted but I'm just not sure what line. The cluster was from a 2014 manual GT, it's currently in a 2014 automatic v6. Everything else on the cluster works with no issues at all, my color, track apps, ect. If there is anyone who could assist me that would be awesome.

Thank you for your time and have a great day.

Backstory

I bought the cluster and had the mileage adjusted to my car, had the dealer do a PATS relearn on it. Everything works but it doesnt show what gear im in.
Redmetallic2014 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 04:54 PM
  #2  
08'MustangDude
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,148
Default

Originally Posted by Redmetallic2014 View Post
Hi everyone, just made an account and this is my first post.

So I recently picked up a premium gauge cluster for my 2014 s197, my issue is when I put the car in sport mode with the select shift It doesnt appear on the cluster to show me what gear I'm in. I know from the feel of the car what gear I'm in but it would be nice to have it back on the cluster also. I figured it's something with the as built data that needs to be adjusted but I'm just not sure what line. The cluster was from a 2014 manual GT, it's currently in a 2014 automatic v6. Everything else on the cluster works with no issues at all, my color, track apps, ect. If there is anyone who could assist me that would be awesome.

Thank you for your time and have a great day.

Backstory

I bought the cluster and had the mileage adjusted to my car, had the dealer do a PATS relearn on it. Everything works but it doesnt show what gear im in.
Item in bold, is your answer. WRONG transmission type cluster... They didn't program the
cluster for AUTOMATIC.
08'MustangDude is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 04:57 PM
  #3  
Redmetallic2014
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: FL
Posts: 4
Default

Yes but there should be a way to change as-built data to correct otherwise people wouldn't be able to add track app or my color. I was wondering if anyone knew anything before I adjust the as-built on mine.
Redmetallic2014 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 06:26 PM
  #4  
08'MustangDude
5th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 2,148
Default

If you have the Ford tool, and you can change the as-built data, then there you go.
There is nothing else you can do without the tool to change it. When you had the
cluster installed, they should have done that. I would call and say, hey, you forgot
to program the cluster for my car, and tell them what is not working. All they can say
is they won't do it, or make you pay for it... I had other cluster issues when they
replaced mine, I had to go back THREE times before they got it right, and I didn't
pay for anything.
08'MustangDude is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 06:33 PM
  #5  
Redmetallic2014
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: FL
Posts: 4
Default

I do indeed have the tools to adjust and program as-built data. I was just seeing if anyone had proper adjustments I need rather then having to hunt through datasheets.
Redmetallic2014 is offline  
Old 03-13-2019, 07:19 PM
  #6  
Redmetallic2014
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: FL
Posts: 4
Default

So everyone who might run into this you need to change this below

720-02-01 FA8C 0000 B0

That will enable the cluster to show sport mode and what gear you are in.


Redmetallic2014 is offline  
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
thehunterooo
3.7L V6 Technical Discussions
2
01-03-2015 05:32 AM
MajMotorsports
Classic Mustangs (Tech)
7
03-13-2012 04:59 PM
stangs13
2005-2014 Mustangs
8
12-14-2011 01:38 PM
zkit18
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
3
07-29-2006 02:41 AM
texada
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang
8
08-04-2003 01:02 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: Cluster missing select shift


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.