351 Mustang

roller blocks

Search this Thread

Old 08-20-2007, 01:37 PM
USMCrebel
Mach I Section Moderator

Default roller blocks

im new to engines and im looking at learning more about them, what is the diffrence between roller and non roller blocks?
Old 08-20-2007, 02:21 PM
WhiteWindsor
5th Gear Member

Default RE: roller blocks

Roller blocks will use roller cam, and hydraulicroller lifters that have a small roller on end ofit to roll on cam. Non-roller have solid lifters and will use a flat tappet cam. 69 -93 i think are non rollers. I am assuming your talking about 351's since it is posted in this section.
Old 08-20-2007, 02:26 PM
USMCrebel
Mach I Section Moderator

yes i am talking about the 351's, so does the hydraulic roller make more power/ cheaper or what?
Old 08-20-2007, 08:51 PM
FullAuto
5th Gear Member

A hyd. roller cam is not cheaper than a flat tappet cam. And the hyd. flat tappets are way more common than solid flat tappets. I'm not sure of what or if any cars came OEM with 351W solid flat tappet cams.

Anyway, the roller blocks cost more. The hyd. roller cams will make more power than the hyd. flat tappets. All solid cams require you to periodically check and adjust lash. These are usually reserved for aggressive builds that don't see a ton of street miles (unless you don't mind the extra effort).

You can convert a non-roller block to use a roller cam.
Old 08-21-2007, 09:26 AM
WhiteWindsor
5th Gear Member

I have a solidcam in a 70's block. 588/622 lift and duration @ .050 is 246/259. Maintenance is not that bad on lash. I dont drive it very often , but i adjust lash about twice a year. I like my flat tappet, it makes very good power. i shift at 6800 rpm. A 70's block is supposed to be stronger that the roller blocks. You can convert but it is expensive. Just get a 70's block, throw a solid cam in there and hang on.
Old 08-21-2007, 10:27 AM
USMCrebel
Mach I Section Moderator