4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Thinking of a 2000 GT, suspension questions.

Search this Thread

Old 05-06-2006, 04:29 AM
Corbic

Default Thinking of a 2000 GT, suspension questions.

I'm new to Mustangs, and domestics in most cases. I was once a RWD hater; however my '88 GXL RX-7 has converted me. Recently I'm tired of a project + daily car; it’s just too expensive and has not been as enjoyable as I always imagine it will be. I'm thinking of ditching both my cars and getting a low mileage, low maintenance GT 'Stang for around 10-11k. (small payments).

While I love the look of the Mustang, and I feel it will meet many of my needs (good fuel economy, rwd, good power, reliability), I have no desire to drag race or have any participation in that "sub-culture". No offense, it’s just not for me. With that in mind, I don't wish to make any significant power increases, maybe just high-flow filter, and exhaust to improve throttle response, sound and eek an extra half mpg out of the car. My real goal would be improving suspension. My understanding the suspension system on the 'stang is simply archaic and poor. Dating back to the early '80s IIRC with no real improvement or change during any of the face lifts. So what can I hope for? I would considering swapping in a Cobra's IRS if its "inexpensive" and "straight forward" for I've heard many Cobra guys ditch their rear-ends to achieve better track results with a live-axel. Also how "good" can I get the suspension set up, I'm not expecting any M3 stuff here, just improvements. I have not been behind the wheel of a Mustang for a few years now and plan to start test driving this Monday to get down exact what bothered me then, and what I'd like to improve.

Also, can someone explain how the rear end works, is it’s an open-differential, or more comparable to a "welded" differential, are LSD available?

Any help or comments would be great.

Thanks,