4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

another new one with questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-12-2006, 02:50 AM
GT 281
2nd Gear Member

Default another new one with questions

OK i race dirt track so im kind of new to this whole fuel injection thing, im used to the old school carb and distributor thing. Any way im a firefighter near fort worth Texas and i just bought a daily driver (2003 GT 5spd) but want it to come alive if i want it to. So far i have the following, CAI (yeh the cheap blue one on the internet but it works), X pipe Xaust w/40 flowmasters ( on the DL off road, No CATS have a buddy that owns a inspection station), Diablo programer on the way, and a dry 75 shot of NOS (any do's or dont's about this?), and a Eibach sport sring kit, Oh and some really cool graphics white car with the blue G.T. 281 down the sides (looks like an old shelby) i think its cool looking anyway get some pics on here when i can. P.S. runs 8.9 in the 1/8th

So have some Questions:

1) What do you think so far?
2) What about the NOS i have herd both good and bad (just a 75 shot)
3) I just got this car and i run 93 octane but it just started getting cooler in the mornings and i have noticed a slight (very slight) knock from the motor just above a idle in the mornings until it warms up (running Mobil 1 10/30) is this normal or have any of you ever herd this)?
4) I know i need gears there coming 3:73 in the next budget
5) I love to drive this car but it just has a huge lug at about 2300 to 3500 is this normal for this car and what can i do to fix it?
6) everyone talks about injectors are these going to give me any HP gain or are these only for protection of running out of fuel?
7) i have herd that if you take the plenum off there is a ridge on the intake that you can file off for more direct injection of the air flowing from the plenum into the intake. Has anyone done this?