4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

New V8 Owner needs advice

Search this Thread

Old 08-25-2007, 10:21 AM
sgtallen

Default New V8 Owner needs advice

After 4 yrs of having a v6 i have finally made the next step up to the big boys, its an 03 GT maroon with only 27k miles in excellent condition.

What i was planning on doing was getting a borla stinger cat back, K&N fitpak, maybe 4:10 gears, new throttle body and ud pulley. Im new to the v8 world and wanted to know what the benefit of a throttle body would be as well as what affect it would have on exhaust tone, same question for gears and a ud pulley, what purpose do they serve and how will they inprove perfomance over stock. I was going to leave my stock h pipe on because of admissions,however will getting another catted h or x make it sound any throatier or deeper?

Last, does anyone know of any shops in the houston area that installs mustang mods? i never really got into performance mods since i only had a 6 and it wouldnt have made that much of a difference. Thanks in advance for your help, i look fwd to interacting on the boards.
Old 08-25-2007, 10:28 AM
dave22478
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: New V8 Owner needs advice

The throttle body/plenum with give you better throttle response. (I am looking at getting these parts this weekend). The Gears are going to give you better acceleration, (I have 3.73's and love them, long debate between 4.10 or 3.73) as for the H or X you can get a catted one if you are worried about emissions and it will change the exhaust note. Good luck and happy modding the madness never ends.....
Old 08-25-2007, 10:35 AM
doug0122
1st Gear Member