4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

Frustrated!

Search this Thread

Old 02-05-2008, 09:30 PM
Nazeraj

Default Frustrated!

K I am really trying not to be annoying. I apologize if I have been. I am a total noob to cars. Especially muscle. Everytime I think I figure something out that I want to do to my car it gets tossed out the window. I am from CA so it makes it hard to have fun with my GT. Anyway if there is one kind soul out there that might be from CA themselves that has something similar to an 04 Mustang GT, if you could kindly pm me and help me out I would appreciate it trememdously. Thank you very much.
Old 02-06-2008, 02:10 AM
tbirdscwd
5th Gear Member

Default RE: Frustrated!

You are very limited in what you can do to a mustang and still maintain its smog legal status in CA. There are however several things you can do that will not affect you passing inspection.

For starters, Gears. You can swap out your rear end gears for 3.73s, 3.90s, or 4.10s which will drastically improve your cars acceleration. It won't even feel like the same car and is one of the best "bang for your buck" mods to any mustang.

Secondly, Catback exhaust. Put a set of Borla Stingers or Flowmasters will give your car the musclecar sound that everyone envys.

Third, remove your air silencer and replace your stock air filter with a K+N filter. Quick and easy, and will help out gas mileage and add a couple of hp.

Get a tune. I recommend Sniper Special forces custom tuning software, it has incredible features, more adjustability and you can get them for less than a hendheld. (or you could buy my Predator in my Sig).