4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

cam and tune question...

Search this Thread

Old 04-30-2008, 11:04 PM
Topdog922
1st Gear Member

Default cam and tune question...

a couple questions in one i guess...

has anyone ever used the "sniper" tuning software. and if so has it helped? it goes on your computer its not hand held. it seems very in depth which is nice.

i want to put in some cams and upgrade my valvetrain... are there any specialty tools needed? i am a mechanic so i have a very good selection of tools, but not any ford specialty tools. so i was woundering if i needed any. (i know ill need the valve spring compressor tool)

im thinking of comp cams i forgot the exact part number, but the ones were the idle is nodicable and you have to upgrade the valvetrain, and also have a minimum of 3.73's in the rear, right now i only have my stock 3.27's, but thats not problem.

thanks for the input everyone.
Old 05-01-2008, 03:09 AM
tbirdscwd
5th Gear Member

Default RE: cam and tune question...

I have the sniper software and it is very useful. There is way more adjustability than with any handheld on the market. If you go with the Comando, it will take a while before you really get a hang of what all the scalars and tables mean/do. And it does go on your laptop or PC so there is no handheld tuner. There is however an interface box, which holds up to 6 tunes including your stock file that is used to re-flash the ECM. The datalogging software that comes with the sniper kit is top-notch too.