4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

White Face Reverse glow gauges

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2012, 01:52 PM
Bjiscuit

Default White Face Reverse glow gauges

Alrighty, well i ordered them and "installed" them onto my stang, and they are rather dim, nothing wha ti was expecting durring night, durring day they look great though, but i have a feeling i did a horrible job installing them as i had no clue what to do with the converter, was i supposed to mount it somewhere inside the dash? And as for the dimmer *** that was with it, same thing? No where in the installation guide does it even mention the dimmer ***, or mounting it anywhere, so my installation job was a bit of a slap together job and yes, i am very new to doing this sort of thing, So i appologize if someone thinks that i completely screwed up the way it was supposed to work.

So if anyone has a more complete set of instructions then i would greatly appreciate it, Also, when i was supposed to ground the black (negative) wire, to the same negative wire coming from the headlight control, there was no black wire on that and i had no clue which one the negative wire was so i grounded it to the metal frame as it said i could do that instead, would that affect how bright the dash is?

Completely lost as to why its so dim.
Old 03-24-2012, 10:25 PM
MyGt03
2nd Gear Member

Might be able to help. I installed some like these a couple years ago and just yesterday helped a buddy out troubleshooting the same issues. Although, both ours were not reverse glow, they were e-glow.

The converter box - Can be installed anywhere. On mine, I zip tied it to a big cluster of wires that were already zip tied in a big bundle under drivers side dash.