4.6L (1996-2004 Modular) Mustang Technical discussions on 1996-2004 4.6 Liter Modular Motors (2V and 4V) within.

? Looking to convert a turbo into a vortec supercharger?

Search this Thread

Old 03-24-2013, 07:03 PM
kingyboy

Default ? Looking to convert a turbo into a vortec supercharger?

I have a brand new turbo thats .50 trim and I was looking to convert it into a vortec... I paid a lot of money for it to put on a project I no longer have and cant find any one to buy it... has or does anyone know of a kit for this?

Posted from MustangForums.com App for Android
Old 03-24-2013, 07:44 PM
Fillerdust
2nd Gear Member

Wow, are you speaking English? Wow....
Old 03-24-2013, 07:49 PM
My1stGT
2nd Gear Member

in on 1
Old 03-24-2013, 10:56 PM
dwtjr3
5th Gear Member

You cant turn a turbo into a supercharger, thats physically impossible
Old 03-25-2013, 06:25 AM
kingyboy

im sorry i am a mechanical engineer and just assumed because the vortec or centrifugal type were made from the cleansides of turbochargers. so there is no kit to split the shaft for the clean side and add the gear box and pully assembly to turn it into a cetrifugal type supercharger like the vortec that uses the clean side of a turbo. I was just looking to see if any perhaps made a kit for the split shaft and gear box or if I would have to make one I have a schematic for the centrifugal supercharger and there is no difference between the impellers on the cleanside besides the length in the pto. and the gear box.

Old 03-25-2013, 06:47 AM
99 GT vert
5th Gear Member

why not just run the turbo? it is more efficient and will give you better power
Old 03-25-2013, 07:01 AM
uberstang1
Chupacabra

Us this thread for real? Prochargers and vortechs are not made from turbo housings, they are totally different. No matter what size turbo u have the shade and guts of the supercharger would never fit in, these are precise peices of equipment.
Old 03-25-2013, 07:44 AM
BraMas
5th Gear Member