4.6L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 4.6L (Modular) Mustangs built from 1996 to 2004.

lowdown on throttle body

Search this Thread

Old 09-10-2012, 03:22 AM
bluep7

Default lowdown on throttle body

I have a bbk CAI system. I am by no means an expert so i have been trying to educate myself a bit. I have read mixed reviews on adding a larger throttle body. Can anyone please give me the lowdown on whether or not it would be beneficial to replace the stock throttle body with a 70mm BBK throttle body?
Thank you-
Old 09-10-2012, 11:37 AM
stevednmc
3rd Gear Member

The upper plenum is more important than the throttle body. Read more here:http://paladinmicro.com/?frm=AccufabFlow01.htm Look though this site, tons of useful info!
Old 09-10-2012, 03:24 PM
dwtjr3
5th Gear Member

if you are planing on buying a throttle body (TB) then just save up and buy a plenum and TB at the same time. And a 70mm TB will be good for a mostly stock car
Old 09-10-2012, 06:17 PM
ctgreddy
6th Gear Member

since the plenum is the big week point, i just suggest getting both and go with the bbk 78mm plenum/tb 1 piece unit. it's a good piece and you'll feel a little gain plus a lot better throttle response plus looks great.
Old 09-10-2012, 06:47 PM
Repzard
4th Gear Member

Originally Posted by dwtjr3
if you are planing on buying a throttle body (TB) then just save up and buy a plenum and TB at the same time. And a 70mm TB will be good for a mostly stock car
^^^This
Old 09-10-2012, 06:52 PM
TRexGAWD
4th Gear Member

Like the others have said, a TB is kind of pointless and a waste of money.. What other mods do you have done?
Old 09-10-2012, 07:07 PM
cliffyk
TECH SAVANT