5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

questions on 4 to 8cyl

Search this Thread

Old 12-15-2006, 02:42 PM
capt.redbeard

Default questions on 4 to 8cyl

Hello everyone I'm new to mustangs but not to fords by any means. I've purchased an 81 mustang hatchback with t-tops and a non-functional hood scoop for the sum of $200. It was stolen and recovered 11 years ago with a blown 2.3l 4cyl and a punched ignition. Otherwise car is in good shape, the blown 2.3l non turbo was gone when I bought it. I would like to turn this in to a summer driver. My first question is about the tranny it appears to be a 5spd not positive. Is the bellhousing interchangeable with a small block housing? If so what kind of car can I find the small block bellhousing in? (mustangs are quite rare to see in junkyards around here) My 2nd question is the factory tach is for a 4 can this be modified somehow to work with an 8?
Thanks for any and all help if the clutch wont work out I'll have some questions about converting to an AOD I've got five of them but clutches are more fun to drive.
Old 12-15-2006, 03:22 PM
83FoxBody
2nd Gear Member

Default RE: questions on 4 to 8cyl

The bellhousing can be found on some T-birds, and also many non fords. Maybe someone else can chime in on what types of vehicles carried the T-5.

Also, I just took some T-top glass off a mustang at a nearby junkyard because I knew someone would need it. Do you need new glass?

Oh, what RPM does the tach go to? I have a 4 cylinder and an 8, but the tach is the same in both. Redline at 5-6.
Old 12-15-2006, 04:08 PM
81ponycar
2nd Gear Member