maf conversion - MustangForums.com

Notices
5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

maf conversion

Reply

 
 
 
Old 02-21-2010, 09:09 PM
  #1  
nitrous_fed_03gt
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mo
Posts: 919
Default maf conversion

im getting ready to convert my 88 lx to maf so i can get this turbo kit going. i got the mass air meter from the company i purchased the turbo kit from. its programmed for the 44lb injectors i will be running. i was going to purchase the wiring harness and a9l computer from a company called late model restoration. the harness is 50 dollars. its one of those that has to be spliced into the wiring already on the car. luckily it comes with step by step instructions. as for the a9l computer, will this work in an automatic? also, they sell theres rebuilt for 250 dollars but ive see them go for around a hundred on ebay. is it a bad idea to buy this computer on ebay? if so why or what do i need to know when buying one from somebody on eba? thanks
nitrous_fed_03gt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:14 PM
  #2  
88BlueGT
6th Gear Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Hamilton, NJ
Posts: 15,042
Default

I definitely would not buy a computer brand new from LMR... they're pretty pricey. Like you said, there are plenty of them floating around going for half the price if not less. Most of the time when you see these computers for sale they were freshly removed from someones car... ask questions and you shouldn't have any problem finding a working ECU.
88BlueGT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:35 PM
  #3  
motorman524
MF Informant
 
motorman524's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,690
Default

^For sure.

The MAF harness doesn't splice into any wires. You have to actually pin it into the PCMs connector. And 50$ is pricy when you could just make it for around 12$. That's what I did. If you are running an Auto you can use the A9L or an A9P. That is what came in the MAF auto cars.
motorman524 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:44 PM
  #4  
nitrous_fed_03gt
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mo
Posts: 919
Default

Originally Posted by motorman524 View Post
^For sure.

The MAF harness doesn't splice into any wires. You have to actually pin it into the PCMs connector. And 50$ is pricy when you could just make it for around 12$. That's what I did. If you are running an Auto you can use the A9L or an A9P. That is what came in the MAF auto cars.
k.so a9l or a9p. got that. so as for making my own, i wouldnt know where to begin. i would need step by step directions for something like that. and when you say pin it into the pcms connector, is that as easy as it sounds? thanks
nitrous_fed_03gt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-21-2010, 09:52 PM
  #5  
motorman524
MF Informant
 
motorman524's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Missouri
Posts: 2,690
Default

Here is what you need to make it:
MAF pigtail
EEC IV terminals
wire conduit
soder, shrinkwrap, torch
electrical tape
4 wires cut to length
The pigtail and terminals can be purchased here: http://rjminjectiontech.com/?p=10

Really not hard. Just soder the pigtails wires to each wire and remember which one is which for the pinning.(your MAF conversion walk through will tell you where to pin them). Then crimp the terminals to the other end of the wires. make it purdy with conduit.

The ease of the pinning depends on how good your instructions are. Basically you pull the red piece out of the connector and follow the instructions on where to place them.
motorman524 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 08:38 AM
  #6  
nitrous_fed_03gt
3rd Gear Member
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: mo
Posts: 919
Default

cool. thank you. and so for the a9l and a9p when you say to ask questions to whomever i buy the ecu from, what questions should i ask?
nitrous_fed_03gt is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2010, 10:47 AM
  #7  
5.0kid
5th Gear Member
 
5.0kid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: The mitten
Posts: 2,525
Default

the computer should be able to be tuned for either a stick or an auto. When i went from my tko600 to my c4 all it needed was a retune of the idle area.
5.0kid is offline  
Reply With Quote
 
 
 
Related Topics
Thread
Thread Starter
Forum
Replies
Last Post
jwog666
Pipes, Boost & Juice
6
01-07-2018 08:16 AM
HRnB
GT350 S550 Tech
10
12-18-2015 10:35 AM
MustangForums Editor
Mustang News, Concepts, Rumors & Discussion
3
11-10-2015 12:39 PM
piotrek53
4.0L V6 Technical Discussions
3
10-13-2015 07:54 PM


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Quick Reply: maf conversion


Advertising
Featured Sponsors
Vendor Directory

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service

We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.