5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

Completely stumped. bad ecu?

Search this Thread

Old 11-20-2010, 09:21 PM
cavaks89gt

Exclamation Completely stumped. bad ecu?

ok so i am new to the 5.0 i got an 89 mustang gt i traded my 4wheeler for. ok so it had a cel only under acceleration as soon as you let off the gas it would shut off. so i tried to get the cel to flash the codes i jumped the sti to the negative battery terminal and no cel flash. the cel wont flash anything so i thought i hooked it up wrong and jumped another solo wire with black wires going to the plug to the connector it made a spark so i disconnected it. i got the car to run the egr self test where it ran the engine to 2grand for a little bit and then back down to idle still no cel flash. shut it off then the next time i started it a few minutes later the engine runs like when u start it cold like a higher idle rpm now the car does this every time i start it even when warm it runs at about 1200 for a minute then down to 900. also there is no more cel during acceleration and i have terrible spark pinging and the timing is set a 1o degrees advance at base timing the little gray thing uninstalled. ok so also the car will randomly die and wont start for like half hour 45 minutes. could the ecu be bad? any help would be awesome i really am stumped with this. thank you
Old 11-21-2010, 12:42 AM
enix187
3rd Gear Member

First off, welcome to the forums, secondly SLOW DOWN I couldn't help but read that whole post extremely fast. From what I gathered, you probably need a tune up something terrible, the hanging idle at start may be weird but my car does it too,