5.0L (1979-1995) Mustang Technical discussions on 5.0 Liter Mustangs within. This does not include the 5.0 from the 2011 Mustang GT. That information is in the 2005-1011 section.

How to Cherry Pick The Motor

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2013, 07:29 AM
yurizx6r
3rd Gear Member

Default How to Cherry Pick The Motor

Hey guys, I need to swap out the motor mounts and oil pan gasket, so I need to lift the motor. I've never done it before, and I'm borrowing my buddies cherry picker. Does anybody have pictures on where to lift the motor from? Also on a side note, to change to oil pan gasket I only need to lift the motor like 5 or 6 inches rite? Once I do that it shouldn't be too hard? lol Thanks for any help in advance!
Old 01-24-2013, 08:04 AM
dawson1112
5th Gear Member

In order to use a chain hoist on the engine you need to find a few places on the block that you can bolt the chain to , some engine hoists also come with a set of metal straps with holes for the hooks that you bolt onto the engine. Usually the heads have extra threaded holes in them , and its always better to use 4 points to lift from 1 on each corner of the engine.

That said, I suggest since you have never done this before to just go ahead and pull the entire engine out and do it out side the car. And here is why... The limited space you have to drop the pan in the car and remove the old gasket is tight to say the least. In order to remove the old gasket and make sure you have cleaned the mating surface's the pan needs to come completly off the engine. In order to raise the engine high enough to remove the pan the tranny needs to come loose anyways.
You will save yourself some serious frustration by removing the engine and doing it correctly the first time. Changing the oil pan gasket and having it leak after your done will totally ruin your day.
Old 01-24-2013, 08:12 AM
yurizx6r
3rd Gear Member