5.0L General Discussion This section is for non-tech specific information pertaining to 5.0L Mustangs.

New to mustang scene and the site

Search this Thread

Old 11-13-2008, 11:48 PM
project1

Default New to mustang scene and the site

Hi all, my name is Kenny I'm from Cincinnati, Ohio and I'm building my first 5.0. I'm currently in my senior year at a local tech high school studying industrial diesel mechanics. I also work part-time as a lot tech at a local dealership. I have a 94 v6 that a buddy of mine pretty much gave me. He had recently installed a stock rear and t5 out of his 95 GT which he wrecked a while back. The Gt was scrapped along with the bottom end due to a crack in the block from the accident. Since then my buddy bought a nice Camaro and an 89 corolla for gas so he had no use for the v6 stang so therefor it sat for a whilr before i bought it.
The day after I got the car I replaced the coil pack plugs and wires did a good sea foaming and oil change and the car ran amazing until my a/c pulley locked up and I snapped the serpentine belt and overheated the car as I was pulling into the dealership where i work. It never ran the same after that. It had a miss-fire that I could not diagnose. It is not burning oil or coolant. But piston number two had the spark plug doused in oil and when I drained my oil I found gas. This explained the dead cylinder because it had spark, fuel pressure and no head leaks, yet did not burn the fuel in the cat.
However I have come to the conclusion that I may have fried a piston ring so in order to fix that I would have to at least try to find a bottom end and rebuild the motor to which I just decided to take advantage of the situation and build a 5.0. And the timing is great for me to document this as my senior project for school.