Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

mach460 dilemma. Need experts!

Search this Thread

Old 01-24-2007, 05:52 PM
forbanger
1st Gear Member

Default mach460 dilemma. Need experts!

Hi to all! I am a newbie in the mustang world I am one of those guys who have bought magazines fo years but didn't have a car. Well, the wife said yes and my hunt began. I ended up purchasing a 1995 GT bright red at a bargain price. I didn't have a head unit though.
This is where my problem begins. I bought a head unit of e-bay but the thing didn't work. The radio worked turned up the volume all the way up and all I could hear is a faint sound of the radio station coming from the tweeters.
I did some research and found out that the car is MACH 460 specific (I guess the headunit part number has to end with the letters CA). Back to e-bay and purchased another radio. Same thing happened, turn up the volume way up and you could just hear the faint music playing from the tweeters.
More research and now I am thinking it is from amp. I have check all the fuses. under engine compartment and in the car but everything looks good.
What do you guys think? Is there a way to test the amps?
I am almost thinking of buying an aftemarket deck and having it installed at circuit city. The tech at Circuit City said that if I go that route they would have to run new wire to every speaker. He also said that it should sound comperable to original(sound wise).
Any input would be greatly appreciated!
One more thing, does anyone know if the cruise control, horn, and foglights are some how connected on these vehicles? I guess that is another problem I have to tackle. none of them work.

Thanks,
Joe

Old 01-24-2007, 09:36 PM
ttocs
6th Gear Member

Default RE: mach460 dilemma. Need experts!