Audio/Visual Electronics Wired up? Everyone's got some sort of electrical modification... let's hear about it here.

Sirius radio question.

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2013, 06:39 PM
70monte
1st Gear Member

Default Sirius radio question.

I just bought a new 2014 Mustang GT yesterday. It's the base model with the only option being the automatic tranny. On the window sticker the description says its a "AM/FM CD/MP3 SAT CAPABL W/AUD INPUT JACK"

I don't have a satellite antenna on the trunk, just the mast on the rear fender. When I press the Sirius button on the radio, the display says "no satellite radio"

My question is this, is there a way to make this radio get Sirius radio and if not, why would they put a Satellite capable radio in the car if you can't activate it?

I have a Sirius/xm radio subscription from the car I traded in and need to know if I need to cancel it. Thanks.

Wayne
Old 08-14-2013, 09:51 PM
gwdrum75

Your stereo is "Satellite Ready", but still needs the tuner. My 2013 GT is the same way.

Option 1:
You could get the Sirius SCC1 with iSimple connector. It will hook into your factory system and let you keep all SYNC functionality (if you have it). Drawback - It will only let you have 6 presets and the text it displays is really abbreviated and doesn't display everything you would want to see.

Option 2:
You could get an external tuner and connect it through the Aux jack or get an FM transmitter.
Drawback - extra wires and something else to install in the car.

Option 3:
Get a SiriusXM internet subscription and stream it through your phone via bluetooth or through the USB input. You'll also get more stations this way.
Drawback - Could lose service in bad cell areas.

I recently ditched option 1 for option 3. I generally have my phone connected to the USB anyway, so I get full text on my display and, in my opinion, it's the best sound quality of the three options.

Hope this helps.

Greg
Old 08-14-2013, 10:18 PM
Derf00
Gentleman's Relish