Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

302 Timing questions

Search this Thread

Old 12-06-2006, 09:14 PM
Yonco
3rd Gear Member

Default 302 Timing questions

What is the stock timing supposed ot be set at on a 302? what idle(rpm) and what *. My timing is set at 21* at 1000 RPM.. im kind of lost at what rpm to set it at and to what advance. The engine is running good when sitting thier. a little rough idleing... When i put it in gear and give gas, it cant handle the load unless i ease in. and when i am driving, it sputters and pops once i get to 2k+ and give some heave throttle. If i rev in nutral, its fine. The plugs are black with carbon, and dry. This reams in rich and/or wrong heat range plugs?? I bought new plugs to eliminate that. runnign rich( its a holley 650 4150<--- I think) and its new and the instructions dont say anything about that.. how do i adjust that. lol im a newbie. ** the book says 6* intial timing at 600 RPM i suppose... it idles like crap at that. idles better, but higher at 15-20

On the carb, theirs the high idle and low idle screws. One on theleft and one on the right.. Whats the difference between the 2 and why should i use one instead of the other? is one a large and othe other a fine adjustment??

Does the timing advance change with mods? If i have a cam, does that mean my advance will be different??

Is the PCV system a MUST? If i dont use the hole, put a breather and plug the hole on the carb is this alright?

-Jon
Old 12-07-2006, 02:07 AM
Colorado_Mustang
5th Gear Member

Default RE: 302 Timing questions

I run 10* at 1000 rpm. Make sure you have the vacuum advance unplugged (if you have one). 21* is way too much. The factory setting is at the original idle, which would be about 750 rpm or so.