Classic Mustangs (Tech) Technical discussions about the Mustangs of yester-year.

1965 Mustang Restoration Price

Search this Thread

Old 07-24-2007, 11:54 AM
saverain

Default 1965 Mustang Restoration Price

Hi, I'm new to mustangs, new to the board and want one. I'm probably over my head but let's say I wanted a '65mustang that just ran great and looked decent, what would the price be? How much would it be to get an old mustang that berely runs to run great? I have about 5k right now. Any suggestions on what to look for in a used mustang?
Old 07-24-2007, 12:06 PM
66GTKFB
5th Gear Member

Default RE: 1965 Mustang Restoration Price

What to avoid is a rust bucket. Where to look is e-bay and your local Craigslist. Both have advantages. E-bay has some levels of buyer confidence and a track record. A local Craigslist can provide you a direct look-see. I have my own list of preferences and things to avoid and things I should have done. One thing I should have done was take someone along to tell me - 'don't, it's not worth it'. Something else to consider, it took me almost ten years to get what I really wanted. In that time I got three other cars to play with.
Jim
Old 07-24-2007, 01:20 PM
gothand
5th Gear Member

Default RE: 1965 Mustang Restoration Price

If you are looking for total cost of a used car tobuy and restore, look for a similar model for sale that is already in the final condition you seek. Add about 15% to 25% to that sales price and hundreds of hours of your own time and you'll get a pretty good indication what you're up against.