General Tech Ask model specific questions in the appropriate category below. All other general questions within.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Gas Questions

Search this Thread

Old 10-02-2005, 10:30 PM
thethirdman

Default Gas Questions

I am a new driver (17) and just got a 1995 v6 mustang. I am really enjoying the benefits of driving stick shift, but I have a few questions. I am not sure what grade gas to use (regular,plus,premium) and was told that I should use STP gas treatment whenever I fill up and wondering if it really makes much of a difference.

Thank You
Old 10-02-2005, 10:46 PM
89stanglx
3rd Gear Member

Default RE: Gas Questions

on my daily driver a 1990 jeep i just put cheap gas in it. in my mustang 89 stang lx i run 93 octane because i have the timing bumped up. in the past i would just run cheap gas and give it an occasional treat with a tank full of higher octane, and once in a while i would by a bottle of fuel injector cleaner in whatever vehicle i owned. I have heard that a lot of gas additives are a waste of money, who knows. Do a google search and let us know, i think a lot of it is just oppinions especially on a stock vehicle just do what the manufactuer recomends. No gas will hurt it and some additives your wasting your money.
Old 10-02-2005, 11:49 PM
Chopper
5th Gear Member